Front Page Story in Daily Mail and Daily Telegraph was Made Up

Copied from the New York Post who copied from the New York magazine and no fact checking – the story about the 17 year old boy who made $72 million dollars in his lunch breaks.

New York Observer

You seem to be quoted saying “eight figures.” That’s not true, is it?

No, it is not true.

The Post trumpeted the boys' investment success, as did New York magazine. (screencap)

Is there ANY figure? Have you invested and made returns at all?

No.

So it’s total fiction?

Yes.

Are you interested in investing? How did you get this reputation?

I run an investment club at Stuy High which does only simulated trades.

If you had been playing with real money, would you have done really well?

The simulated trades percentage was extremely high relative to the S&P.

Where did Jessica Pressler come up with the $72 million figure?

I honestly don’t know. The number’s a rumor.

She said ‘have you made $72 million’?

[I led her to believe] I had made even more than $72 million on the simulated trades.

So what did your parents think when they’re reading that you’ve got $72 million?

Mohammed Islam: Honestly, my dad wanted to disown me. My mom basically said she’d never talk to me. Their morals are that if I lie about it and don’t own up to it then they can no longer trust me. … They knew it was false and they basically wanted to kill me and I haven’t spoken to them since.

 

Leave a Reply

